When I was younger, when I heard cheesecake it wasn’t something I jumped with joy at. Boy, have things changed. I pictured cheesecake to be exactly what it’s called, cheese with cake and I don’t mean the lovely cream cheese that is actually used, I thought of stinky cheeses and those that were meant for savory purposes. Luckily, one summer my aunt asked me if I wanted to help my cousin make a cheesecake as we both share the passion for baking. When it was time to eat it, I was sceptical but having been raised with good manners, I tried it. You can only imagine how I felt when I took my first bite. It was like fireworks and all good things happening at once. My life had changed forever. I quickly jotted down the recipe and have made it ever since.

Ingredients:

For the crust:

140g digestive cookies

75g sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4 tablespoons melted butter

For the cream cheese filling:

600g cream cheese

150g sugar

4 eggs

4 teaspoons vanilla sugar (vanilje sukker in Norwegian)

2 and 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice

For the top layer:

400ml of sour cream

6 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla sugar

A box of jello if you want to use jello as decoration

What you need:

I used just a bowl, a 24cm round spring form cake tin, a whisk and a spatula.

IMG_5135

Start of by preheating your oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Then get all your ingredients together.

IMG_5123Start by making the crust. In a food processor or if you like you can just use a plastic bag and a rolling pin, crush the biscuits until you have a fine powder. Add this to a bowl and add sugar, butter and cinnamon and mix well. After this, get your cake tin and if you want, cover it with parchment paper, and pour in the biscuit mixture and pat down to get an even layer. You can use the bottom of a glass to press down with.
IMG_5146IMG_5149 IMG_5154IMG_5156

 

IMG_5157 IMG_5158

Cook the crust in the oven for 5 minutes until it gets a slight golden color.

IMG_5159Now prepare your cream cheese filling.

IMG_5161Mix the cream cheese, sugar, vanilla sugar, lemon juice and one egg together.

IMG_5165Then add the remaining eggs and mix until you have a smooth mixture. At this point, we add the filling to the crust and cook for 35 minutes at 150 degrees Celsius. The cake is done when the sides are firm and the center is still a bit loose.

IMG_5171 IMG_5172

 

IMG_5177IMG_5180

While the cake is in the oven, prepare the sour cream layer, by simply adding the sour cream, sugar and vanilla sugar to a bowl and stir well. Once the cake, is out of the oven, pour this mixture over the cake immediately. Let the cake cool down before you put it in the refrigerator to set for at least 2-3 hours. Decorate with fruit, chocolate, jello or anything you like. I decorated mine with jello and strawberries this time around.

IMG_5184 IMG_5187

IMG_5182 IMG_5190 IMG_5194

Now just take a moment to appreciate this wonderful cake. My mouth is watering already.

IMG_6010

IMG_20150407_170849

