Since my last two posts have been sweet and delicious, I sort of have to put something relatively healthy up, don’t I?! Can’t live off sweets, can I? Maybe in an imaginary world where calories don’t exist, I probably could. Oh well, back to real life for a while. I came across this recipe, while going through the food and drink category on Pinterest and let me say, it did make me stop and check it out. You fellow Pintersters, probably know that once you enter Pinterest, it’s hard to exit. 5 minutes ends up being 20 minutes. Sometimes you just scroll and scroll and pin, pin, pin, in a way that it seems to outsiders that you have been hypnotized. When I pin something, it means that I’m interested but not in a hurry to check it out. This recipe got my clicking twice and on I went to the new site. I did change it up a little bit, due to the lack of some ingredients. You can’t have it all.

It’s an Arabic style omelette that is so versatile and so easy to make. You can mix and match the ingredients you like and bring it to picnics, to someones house, or just serve it as a snack.

The ingredients you will need are:

1 (600g) eggplant, cut into 1cm dice

2 handfuls of baby spinach leaves

Olive oil

2 leeks, finely chopped. You can substitute with an onion.

1 clove garlic, crushed

4-6 eggs, lightly beaten. Depends on the size.

Pinch of ground turmeric

Salt and pepper to taste

Cheese of your choice.

IMG_5197


How to make:

Cut eggplants into 1 cm dice.

IMG_5199

Add eggplants to boiling water and blanch them for 3 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain.

IMG_5202

Add the spinach leaves to the same water and boil for 1 minute.

IMG_5204

In a frying pan, add olive oil, eggplant, leeks and garlic and fry until the eggplant is browned. Add the spices and spinach.

IMG_5210        IMG_5213

Once everything is combined, add it all to a bowl and mix in the cheese of your choice and the eggs.

IMG_5216        IMG_5219

Return it to the frying pan and cook until it is dry on top and finish it off in the oven. Serve warm as is or maybe with some crusty bread.

IMG_5220       IMG_5224

