Don’t worry. This might sound fancy but bisque is just a fancy word for soup. Tomato soup doesn’t sound that intimidating, right?! I love this recipe and serving it with some garlic bread does the trick. The crunchiness of the bread with the velvety soup is just divine. I loved tomato soup when I was younger and remember when I had my first cell phone, I would text my mom and ask her to prepare it for me before I came from school, as I did with many of her recipes. Sometimes she would answer, “If I have time…” and I would just pray she made it anyway. And she always did. Thank you mom, you’re the best. Now that I’m all grown up and living in my own apartment, I don’t have the possibility to text her and come home to a prepared meal. But thats ok, I have learned so much from my parents and they have made me fall in love with cooking and baking and everything that has to do with food and drinks, so I am just happy to prepare things myself. Practice makes perfect.

What you will need:

2x400g can of chopped tomatoes

1 onion

1-2 celery stalks

5 cloves garlic

2-3 carrots

1 litre of stock/broth

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons flour

1 teaspoon thyme(fresh or dried)

2 bay leaves

100 ml cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Finely chop celery, carrots and onion. Add them to a saucepan with butter and minced garlic. Cook until onion becomes translucent. IMG_5340 Add flour, in order to make a roux. IMG_5348 Add bay leaves and thyme and stir a bit before adding the tomatoes IMG_5349IMG_5350

Stir the tomatoes, add the broth and cook for 20 minutes. IMG_5352IMG_5353 Transfer the soup to a blender or use your hand blender and blend until you get a smooth soup and pour back into the saucepan. IMG_5357 Add cream and serve.

IMG_5359 IMG_5385

