Finally, after almost 20 years living in Italy, I have made something that brings me back to Norway. Even though I don’t remember much from living in Norway, as I was 5 when we left, there are certain things that remind me of Norway. Every time I go back, I bring back a lot of different ingredients that are not easily found here. Fishcakes and fiskeboller(which are a type of meatball but instead of meat it is made of fish) have always been something I’ve missed. There is a funny story about an italian man going to Norway and thinking he has found a box full of mozzarella, and to his demise comes home and opens it up, only to find out that it was not mozzarella, but unfortunately fiskeboller. I picture this poor man sitting there all excited about his mozzarella and then all it is is some fish. Probably my experience when I first saw mozzarella.

Ingredients you will need:

500g white fish.

I used cod.

300ml milk

tablespoons of potato flour

2 teaspoons of salt

Half a teaspoon of baking soda

Pepper to taste

Parsley and chives to taste.

In a food processor, add fish and salt and mix well.

IMG_5228               IMG_5229

Add the remaining ingredients and mix until you have a smooth paste. Add more milk if necessary.

IMG_5239 IMG_5245

In a frying pan melt some butter. Using two spoons form little fishcakes and cook on both sides.

IMG_5259 IMG_5262 IMG_5263 IMG_5268 IMG_5269

