Summer is just around the corner here in Italy. Last weekend, we had such lovely weather that my mother and I decided to make our go to pasta salad, that we often prepare during summer, as tomatoes are in season and that this salad can be served warm and cold. Perfect for when we have a lot of guests over. Quick, simple and few ingredient and another bonus is that it is relatively cheap to make. My mouth is already salivating and I’m actually considering making a bit for myself for lunch today. I really enjoy cooking with both my mother and my father. They have taught me so much and I’ve really enjoyed making food with them. Being the youngest of four children, I lived a couple of years as an only child while the others were off studying, and really got a lot quality time with my parents and picked up so many kitchen tips, that I now use on a daily basis. My parents have given me the building blocks to further continue my passion for cooking, and I will be forever grateful to them.  Well on to the recipe we go.

Serves 4-6(or more depending if you use it as a main dish or as a side)

Ingredients:

400g pasta

5 tomatoes

300g mozzarella

Handful of basil

4 garlic cloves

Salt and pepper

IMG_5486

Boil the pasta according to the instructions on your pack.

Dice the tomatoes and put them in a colander to drain of excess liquid.

IMG_5483

Cut mozzarella into little cubes. Finely chop basil and garlic. Add these, along with the tomatoes to the pasta. Season to taste.

IMG_5487

Serve immediately or let cool and serve cold. This is also great as leftovers.

IMG_5495

