I looooove me some caramel sauce. Especially poured over ice cream. A little goes a long way and since caramel is basically just sugar, it is best to not eat so much of it. I love McDonalds caramel sundae, but now that I make my own ice cream with my ice cream maker, all I was missing was the caramel sauce. This comes very close to the original. It is very simple to make, but you have to be careful that you don’t burn yourself as this will hurt a lot. Caramel sauce is great to have in the fridge because it has so many uses. You can use it as a topping for ice cream, cheesecakes and also to make your beverages extra tasty. I will post my recipe for vanilla ice cream soon, just need to empty out my freezer, so I have place to store it. Now let’s indulge in this wonderful recipe.

Ingredients you will need:

200 g sugar

60 ml water

2 tablespoons of butter

180 ml heavy cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract/vanilla paste

Add sugar and water to a heavy bottomed saucepan. Swirl around instead of stirring.

IMG_5534IMG_5535

Cook until you reach an amber color and then add the butter.

IMG_5540 IMG_5541

IMG_5544

Remove from heat and add heavy cream. If the mixture seems to start to harden and you think you’ve messed up, don’t worry. Just return to a low heat and continue stirring, being careful not to spill any of the mixture on to you.

IMG_5545IMG_5546

Add to an air tight container or glass bottle and let cool down before putting in the fridge. Serve over some ice cream and you’re go to go.

IMG_5547

