Summer is right around the corner and I can’t wait to go the sea and relax. Since I was about 7 or 8 years old, my family and I, have always gone to the same place during summer. It is about 2 and a half hours away, and we love to go there for the weekends and sometimes for a few days extra. The place is called Noli and it is found along the Ligurian coast. It is a small little town, but has all that we need. Great restaurants and the hotels are all walking distance to the beach.  There is one restaurant that we just love, and honestly the only one we go to unless they are closed. It is called Malafemmina and serves incredible food. Everytime I leave the restaurant, I leave inspired. They serve mainly sea food and my favorite dish is their sea food risotto, which I will post on this blog soon using my mothers interpretation. They also serve great mussels and today I am going to show you a recipe, my father taught me yesterday for my birthday lunch.

The picture below shows Noli. Looks great doesn’t it?!
10487492_10152254488701409_2021140769173519038_n-2

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1.5 kg mussels

2 shallots

2-3 garlic cloves depending on size

1 dried chilis

2oo ml apple juice or white wine

200 ml heavy cream

A handful of parsley

Olive oil

Method:

Start by checking and cleaning your mussels. If you find a mussel that is open and doesn’t close when you tap on it or a cracked one, discard them.

IMG_5988 IMG_5990 IMG_5989

Chop shallot and garlic and add them to a pan with some olive oil.

IMG_5991 IMG_5996 IMG_5993 IMG_5997

Cook until shallots become translucent. Be careful that it doesn’t brown.

IMG_5994 IMG_5998

Add the heavy cream and apple juice or white wine(i used apple juice). Let cook for a minute.

IMG_6003

Add the mussels and cover. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the mussels have opened up. Don’t over cook as they will become dry and chewy.

IMG_6004

Chop up parsley and sprinkle over the mussels right before serving.

IMG_6000 IMG_6005 IMG_6006

Serve with some crusty bread you use to soak up the sauce with. Delish

This brought me right back to the summer. Can’t wait to go back this summer.

IMG_6008

