The smell of freshly made bread gives off such a great scent throughout the house. Nothing better than homemade bread. This bread goes great with any Moroccan dish and I will post a lot more, so stay tuned. I’ve learned how to make this bread by watching my soon to be mother and sister in law and a couple of youtube videos. At first, I had some difficulties because I had no patience and didn’t let the dough prove enough and had a little bit of yeast missing in the dough. However, I have managed to succeed and impressed my family in law. Yay me!! I love to learn new Moroccan dishes and surprise my fiancé with recipes from his country, even though he prefers that I make the recipes I grew up on as they are new to him. I have also learnt how to make cous cous, the traditional way, and I will share a recipe once I make it again.

Ingredients:

500 ml white flour

250 ml semolina flour

1, 7 g, packet of dry yeast

1/2 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

More or less 250 ml warm water + 3 tablespoons to activate yeast

Directions:

Activate the yeast, by mixing it with sugar and 3 tablespoons warm water.

IMG_6014 IMG_6018

Mix the flours together along with the salt.

IMG_6015 IMG_6017

Add the yeast mixture, olive oil. Add water little by little, until you form a ball. Knead until it becomes smooth and elastic.

IMG_6019 IMG_6021 IMG_6023

Divide into 2 or 3 balls and let rest 5 minutes.

IMG_6024 IMG_6025

Flatten 1 ball at a time using the palm of you hand until you form a circular shape that is about 1 to 1.5 cm thick. Let rise for 1 hour.

IMG_6026 IMG_6028

IMG_6029

Heat oven to 250°C. Transfer bread onto a baking tray and poke a couple of holes with a fork and cook in the oven until golden brown. Depending on your oven you might have to turn them over towards the end.

IMG_6050 IMG_6051 IMG_6054

IMG_6057

