If you’ve never had Moroccan food, you’re missing out. The amazing taste that comes from mixing a few ingredients with some spices, is incredible! I remember my first time eating Moroccan food. I was invited for lunch by my sister in law. She prepared a few different things, but when I sat down to eat and saw the plate, I wasn’t quite sure what to think. It looked good but all I saw was olives. Yikes!! Not something I was a fan of. But being raised with manners, I bit my tongue and took my first bite. It was amazing. It was a sort of lam tagine with a sauce made with onions and the liquid from the meat and decorated with olives. I didn’t eat the olives, which I still don’t really do, but they did help give a great taste to the dish. Becoming more accustomed to Moroccan food, I started exploring. My first time visiting Morocco, made me fall even more in love with Moroccan cuisine. I brought back so many ingredients to cook with and tried to make some of the dishes I had eaten  there. One time, I made my sister a Moroccan dish and she loved it. Sometimes, the dishes can look a bit messy but that is because the majority of the recipes are made with a sauce used to soak up with bread. I will share with you a great eggplant dip, that can be served hot or cold, that I tasted when I went to Marrakech. You can dip bread in it or even use as topping on a bruschetta. You should definitely try this out.

Ingredients:

500 g eggplant

2 tomatoes

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Handful chopped parsley

Olive oil

Method:

Peel half or the whole eggplant depending if you like the skin or not. Dice the eggplant and boil in salted water for 20 minutes.

IMG_6063IMG_6064

IMG_6065

Remove from water, drain and squeeze out any excess water. Add to a frying pan with olive oil, garlic and tomatoes.

IMG_6070 IMG_6071

Add spices. Let cook until everything becomes soft.

IMG_6072

Crush the tomatoes and eggplant with the back of a spoon. Add parsley.

IMG_6073 IMG_6075

Serve with some bread or on top of a slice of bread as an appetizer. Use my recipe for Moroccan bread in a previous post: http://www.idaskitchenblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/khobz-moroccan-bread/

IMG_6086

