This recipe might be one of my favorite chicken recipes ever!!! Who am I kidding?! It’s totally my fave. The chicken breast is never dry due to the cream cheese and the pepper and onion sauce is just the icing on the cake. I found this recipe online and have made it soooooooo many times that I have to share it with you. You’re gonna love it. Serve this recipe with some basmati rica and broccoli or any vegetable you like. I just made a big serving of this, this last weekend as I had my whole family in law over. They enjoyed it so much that there wasn’t even a piece of rice grain left.

Serves 4

Ingredients for chicken:

4 chicken breasts

150g herb cream cheese

Salt and pepper

Oil

Ingredients for the sauce:

1 red pepper

1 onion

50 g herb cream cheese

300 ml chicken broth

2 teaspoons flour

2 tablespoons butter

Method:

Slice a “pocket” in the chicken breast and fill with about a teaspoon of cream cheese. Season with salt and pepper. In the pictures you will see that I have more chicken breast than the recipe requires. This was because I had guests. Use toothpicks to close the chicken so the cream cheese doesn’t run out.

IMG_6121 IMG_6122

Add a bit of olive oil to a skillet and brown on both sides.

IMG_6126 IMG_6128

Add the chicken to a baking dish and cook in the oven at 180°C until the chicken is well done. We don’t want rare chicken.

IMG_6129

Meanwhile, make the pepper-onion sauce. Start by finely chopping the onion and pepper and add them to a saucepan along with the butter. Cook for 5 minutes. Add flour and stir well.

IMG_6111IMG_6113

Add broth and cook for another 10 minutes. Turn off the heat and add cream cheese.

IMG_6114 IMG_6115 IMG_6119

Remove chicken from oven and either slice it and serve with basmati rice and broccoli or leave it whole.

11053626_1380599302265942_3912308965086170007_n

