This one time at band camp…Whoops wrong story. I know some of you will understand where that comes from. Let me start over…This one time at Uni, I came across an interesting dish. I was tired of the usual pizza slice and the pasta dishes I could pay less for if I brought it from home, but the dish that I have been inspired by for this recipe, caught my attention. It looked somewhat healthy and the ingredients were all good ones, so it won over the pizza. I had never eaten barley grains, but I was actually positively surprised of how good it was. There were some improvements to be made but I couldn’t complain. You should try it! Even if you doubt that you will like it. You’ll be shocked how good it actually is.

Serves 4

Ingredients:

80 g barley grains per person should do

1 large carrot

1 zucchini

1 onion

2 handfuls mushrooms

Olive oil

Juice of one lemon (half and half)

200 grams chicken (I used some leftover rotisserie chicken)

How to:

Cook the barley in water according to the instructions on the packet.

IMG_6305

Meanwhile, chop the vegetables and sauté them with a few tablespoons olive oil until cooked. Add the chicken(if you are using leftover. If not cook the chicken and then add it once done) and the juice of half a lemon once the vegetables are done. You can also make this a vegetarian dish and omit the chicken.

IMG_6306 IMG_6308

IMG_6311 IMG_6312

Drain the barley and add the leftover lemon juice.

IMG_6314 IMG_6310

Mix in the vegetables and chicken and serve.

IMG_6315 IMG_6319

Enjoy!

