Knowing me, you know I love to cook and bake and get excited whenever I see a shop selling anything to do with kitchen supplies and decorations for cakes etc. You also know, that when I see a new recipe I have to test it out. Hence, these Moroccan pastries. I will post a couple recipes I have made in preparation for ramadan for my love. This recipe is called Kaab el Ghazal, which translates to horns of the gazelle, and are little cookies/pastries made with an almond filling.

Ingredients:

Dough:

250 g flour

60 g softened butter

60 ml warm water

2 tablespoons sugar

Pinch of salt

1 egg

2 tablespoons orange blossom water(to taste)

Filling:

200 g almond flour(just cut almonds in food processor until you have a powder)

100 g icing sugar

45 g melted butter

1 1/2 tablespoons orange blossom water

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Dough:

Mix all the ingredients together in a food processor until you get a smooth and elastic dough. Wrap in cling film and refrigerate.

IMG_6514 IMG_6516 IMG_6517 IMG_6519

Filling:

Add all the ingredients in a bowl and mix until you are able to form the filling.

IMG_6521 IMG_6522 IMG_6523

Thinly roll the dough and add some filling. Cover with the dough and shape to form the traditional horn shape. Poke small holes in the cookies before cooking. If you like to add color, you can like I did.

IMG_6529 IMG_6531 IMG_6532 IMG_6533 IMG_6534 IMG_6535Bake in the oven for 15 minutes at 180°C. They should be slightly golden. Store in an air tight container.

Serve with traditional Moroccan mint tea.

IMG_6562

