The other day it was Norway’s national day and I had just come back from Norway the day before. I received a couple of photos from my sisters who were celebrating in Oslo, and I thought to myself, “I can’t not make anything to celebrate this day.” So I checked what ingredients I had on hand and saw that I had some frozen berries in the freezer and enough of the other ingredients to form a dough. So I started to bake. These buns are delicious and in a way quite fresh as they have lemon zest and red currants in them. They don’t take too long to make and freeze well.

Makes about 25-30

Ingredients:

500g flour

50g butter

70g sugar

300ml milk

Zest from one lemon

25g fresh yeast or 1 packet of dry yeast(7g)

Half a teaspoon of salt

Frozen or fresh berries of your choice

Vanilla custard( store bought or homemade. I used my homemade one that I used in both my Fruit tart andSkolebrød-Norwegian sweet vanilla custard buns recipes)

How to:

Melt butter in a pan and add half the milk along with the sugar to it.

 

In a bowl heat the other half of the milk until lukewarm and add the yeast. I used dry yeast as that was what I had on hand.

IMG_7938

 

Add the dry ingredients to a mixing bowl and add the lemon zest.

IMG_7941

 

Add the wet ingredients and mix until a dough is formed. Let rise to double in size.

 

Roll out the dough and add the custard. Once you have spread the custard out, add the berries. As you can see what I had left was mainly red currants, but I love the blueberries that were left so next time I will add extra blueberries.

Roll the dough and slice them in 2-3 cm in width. Place on baking tray and cook in oven until golden brown(about 15 min) at 180°C.

 

Serve as is or topped with some icing sugar.

IMG_7953

