On Monday we celebrated Eid al adha,which is the second of two muslim holidays celebrated worldwide each year, and considered the holier of the two. We had my sister in law and her family over for the festivities. I prepared a leg of lamb with delicious potatoes and some other side dishes, lamb muffins, which you will see in my next post, and a few other sweet treats. I love learning about these new traditions that will become a standard in our household and I try my best to make it a fun and enjoyable day. In fact, we had a lot of fun and I even ended up making a fort in my bedroom for my nieces and they had a blast. So on to the recipe.. these cookies or sweet treats as I like to call them, are so good and soft and just so simple to make. The recipe doesn’t call for many ingredients and are done in about 30 minutes.

Ingredients: 

4 eggs

200 g sugar

250 g ground almonds

250 g shredded coconut

1 teaspoon baking powder

Icing sugar to roll the cookies in

1 teaspoon vanilla paste/extract

How to:

Mix eggs and sugar and mix until the mixture becomes fluffy. Add vanilla.

 

Mix together the ground almond, coconut and baking powder and then add to the eggs.

 

Make small balls and roll them in the icing sugar and then add them to the mini muffin cups. They will double in size so don’t make them too big.

 

Cook in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 180°C. Let cool and serve or add to an air tight container and keep up to 1 month.

 

 

