Last year I was looking for inspiration for some desserts I could make for Eid. Going through Pinterest, I came across these sheep cupcakes and I fell in love. I didn’t make them last year because I preferred to make a cake which was ah-mazing. The recipe is already on the blog Scrumptiously delicious chocolate cake with whipped cream and strawberry filling. Since I was making everything for the party, I thought why not make simple cupcakes and decorate them as sheep. So the quest to find mini marshmallows began. From experience, living in Italy, once you find something new you have to stock up on it. Especially if it’s not a product Italians often use. Unfortunately, I did not find the ones I wanted and my sister continued the quest for me. She didn’t find them either but she did find mini meringue which actually worked out really well. Thanks Helene. I made chocolate muffins with a cream cheese frosting and they were a huge success.

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

50 g butter

150 ml sugar

1 egg

250 ml flour

2 teaspoons vanilla sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

100 ml milk

For the frosting:

200 g cream cheese

500 g icing sugar

50 g butter

How to:

Mix sugar and egg together. In a bowl add all the dry ingredients and mix together. Heat milk with butter and let cool slightly. Add dry ingredients to the egg mixture and then add the milk and butter.

img_8329

Prepare your cupcake tray with paper cups and add the batter until the cups are 3/4 full.

img_8330

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes at 175°C. Let cool before you add the frosting.

img_8332

Beat together the ingredients for the frosting. Once the cupcakes have cooled, thinly frost the them and add mini meringues or marshmallows(which I did end up finding at the Tiger store).

I made sheep faces out of chocolate but you can use fondant or even a paper cut out if you like.

 

